Main content
8
50
Our Hours Today:
Closed

2023-24

Academic Calendar: 2023–24 at a Glance

The full 2023–24 academic calendar is below. Opening and Closing Information for Residential Areas is on the Residential and Student Life webpage.

Fall 2023

  • Classes begin: Mon., Aug. 28
  • Labor Day: Mon., Sept. 4 (no classes)
  • Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown on Friday September 15): Classes in session
  • Yom Kippur (begins at sundown on Sunday, September 24): Classes in session
  • Election Day: Tues., Nov. 7 (no classes)
  • Thanksgiving Recess: Wed., Nov. 22 through Sun., Nov. 26 (no classes)
  • Final exam week: Dec. 11–15
  • Classes end: Fri., Dec. 15

Winter Session 2024 (4 Weeks, 100% Online)

  • December 21 – January 19
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day - January 15: Classes in session

Spring 2024

  • Classes begin: Mon., Jan. 22
  • Winter Break: Feb. 19–20 (no classes)
  • Spring Recess: Mon., March 25 through Fri., March 29 (no classes)
  • Final exam week: May 8–14
  • Classes end: Tues., May 14
  • Commencement: Fri., May 17

Summer Session 2024

  • Session I: June 3 – June 28
  • Session II: June 3 – July 29
  • Session III: July 8 – August 2

 Fall 2023

Date Item
Wednesday, July 5 Fall 2023 registration begins for nonmatriculated students
Monday, August 28 Full-term and First Half term classes begin
Monday, August 28 – Friday, September 1 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period (full-term  and first half term courses)
Monday, September 4 Labor Day: No classes; some offices close
Tuesday, September 5

Withdrawal period begins

Older Adult Learner Registration begins

Friday, September 15 Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Friday, September 15 – Sunday, September 17

Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown Friday, September 15): Classes in session

Monday, September 18

Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option

Tuesday, September 19

Census

Wednesday, September 20

Last day to withdraw from First Half term courses

Monday, September 25

Yom Kippur (begins at sundown Sunday, September 24): Classes in session

Monday, October 2

Short term registration opens

Monday, October 9

Columbus Day: Classes in session

Friday, October 13

First Half term Ends

Monday, October 16

Short and Second Half terms begin

Wednesday, October 18

First Half term grades due

Friday, October 20

Last day to add or drop short-term courses

Monday, October 30

Last day to withdraw from full-term courses

Tuesday, November 7

Election Day: No Classes

Monday, November 6 – Friday, November 10

Advising Week

Saturday, November 11

Veterans Day (observed): Classes in session

Monday, November 13

Spring 2024 Registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Spring 2024 Registration Guide for schedule)

Tuesday, November 14

Last day to request a medical leave of absence

Friday, November 17

Last day to withdraw from short-term and second half term courses

Wednesday, November 22 – Sunday, November 26

Thanksgiving Recess: No classes

Monday, December 11 – Friday, December 15

Final exam week (refer to the Final Exam Schedule for details)

Friday, December 15

Last day of full-term and second half term courses

Last day for January 2024 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects to the Library

Wednesday, December 20

Last day for faculty to submit grades

Friday, January 12, 2024

Deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades

 Winter Session 2024

Date Item
Monday, October 16 Registration begins
Thursday, December 21 Classes begin                                                                               
Thursday, December 21 – Friday, December 22 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period for all students
Tuesday, December 26

Withdrawal period begins

Older Adult Learner Registration

Friday, December 29

Census

Friday, January 5

Last day to withdraw from a course

Monday, January 15

Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Classes in session; Some offices close

Friday, January 19

Last day of classes

Wednesday, January 24

Last day for faculty to submit grades

Wednesday, January 31

Deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades

Spring 2024

Date Item
Monday, January 22 Spring 2024 full-term and First Half term classes begin
Monday, January 22 – Friday, January 26

Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period (full-term courses)

Friday, January 26

Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services

Monday, January 29

Withdrawal period begins

Older Adult Learner  registration

Friday, February 9

Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option

Monday, February 12

Census

Friday, February 16

First half of term withdrawal deadline

Monday, February 19 – Tuesday, February 20

Winter Break – No Classes

Monday, February 26

Short-term registration opens

Tuesday, March 12

First half of term ends

Wednesday, March 13

Short-term and second half of term classes begin

Friday, March 15

First Half of Term Grades Due

Monday, March 18

Last day to add or drop Spring 2024 short-term courses

Friday, March 22

Last day to withdraw from full-term courses

Monday, March 25 - Friday, March 29

Spring recess:  No Classes

Monday, April 1 – Friday, April 5

Advising week

Monday, April 8

Fall 2024 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Fall 2024 Registration Guide for schedule)

Monday, April 15

Last day to request a medical leave of absence

Tuesday, April 16

Last day to withdraw from short-term and second half of term courses

Wednesday, May 8 – Tuesday, May 14

Final exam week (refer to the Final Exam Schedule for details)

Tuesday, May 14

Last day of Spring 2024 full-term classes

Friday, May 17

52nd Annual Commencement

Last day for May 2024 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects

Friday, May 24

Last day for faculty to submit grades

Tuesday, June 10

Last day for faculty to resolve Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer Session I

Date Item
Monday, June 3 Summer session I classes begin
Monday, June 3 – Tuesday, June 4 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period
Wednesday, June 5

Withdrawal period begins

Older Adult Learner registration

Thursday, June 6

Last day to elect Pass/No Credit grading option

Monday, June 10

Census

Monday, June 17

Last day to withdraw from summer session I

Wednesday, June 19

Junteenth (classes in session)

Friday, June 28

Last day of summer session I classes

Wednesday, July 3

Last day for faculty to submit summer session I grades

Friday, July 5

Last day for faculty to resolve summer session I Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer Session II

Date Item
Monday, June 3 Summer session II classes begin
Monday, June 3 – Wednesday, June 5 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period
Thursday, June 6

Withdrawal period begins

Older Adult Learner registration

Monday, June 10

Census

Tuesday, June 11

Last day to elect Pass/No Credit grading option

Wednesday, June 19

Junteenth (classes in session)

Friday, July 5

Last day to withdraw from summer session II

Monday, July 29

Last day of summer session II classes

Friday, August 2

Last day for faculty to submit summer session II grades

Monday, August 12

Last day for faculty to resolve summer session II Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer Session III

Date Item
Monday, July 8 Summer session III classes begin
Monday, July 8 – Tuesday, July 9 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period
Wednesday, July 10

Withdrawal period begins

Older Adult Learner registration

Thursday, July 11 Last day to elect Pass/No Credit grading option
Friday, July 12 Census
Thursday, July 18 Last day to withdraw from summer session III
Friday, August 2 Last day of summer session III classes
Wednesday, August 7 Last day for faculty to submit summer session III grades
Monday, August 12 Last day for faculty to resolve summer session III Incomplete (“I”) grades