Main content

Jericho Brown

Jericho Brown is the author of three poetry collections: The Tradition (2019), long listed for the 2019 National Book Award; The New Testament (2014), winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and named one of the best books of the year by the Academy of American Poets; and Please (2008), winner of the 2009 American Book Award. His poems have been published in the New Yorker, the New Republic, and The Best American Poetry, among other places. He is a recipient of the Whiting Writers Award and has been a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award, the Thom Gunn Award, and the Hurston Wright Poetry Prize. Brown is an associate professor and the director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University in Atlanta.

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series