Main content

Lawrence Joseph

Tinnelly Professor of Law at St. Johns University, Lawrence Joseph is also an internationally acclaimed poet and writer. He is the author of six books of poems, including: So Where Are We? (2017), Into It (2005), and Codes, Precepts, Biases, and Taboos: Poems 1973-1993) (2005), a collection of Joseph’s first three books of poems. He is also the author of Lawyerland, an internationally acclaimed  non-fiction novel, and The Game Changed: Essays and Other Prose (2011). Among his many awards are a Guggenheim, two National Endowment for the Arts poetry fellowships, and the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize, which he received for Shouting at No One.  In April 2006, he was named the third recipient of the New York County Lawyers Association’s “Law and Literature Award.”

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series