Main content

Manuel Muñoz

Manuel Muñoz is the author of one novel, What You See in the Dark (2011), as well as three collections of short stories, including The Consequences (2023), which won the Joyce Carol Oates Prize, was a finalist for the Aspen Words Literary Prize, and was longlisted for the Story Prize. Named a MacArthur Foundation Fellow in 2023, Muñoz also has been named a finalist for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize and has received a Whiting Writers Award. His stories have three times been awarded the O. Henry Prize and have been chosen twice for The Best American Short Stories. His frequently anthologized work has appeared in The New York Times, ZYZZYVA, Freeman’s, Virginia Quarterly Review, Epoch, Glimmer Train, American Short Fiction, Boston Review, and Literary Hub. A native of Dinuba, California, Muñoz is Professor in the Department of English at the University of Arizona-Tucson.

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series