Main content

Philip Metres

Philip Metres is the author of ten books, including the poetry collections Shrapnel Maps, Pictures at an Exhibition, and Sand Opera, the nonfiction book The Sound of Listening: Poetry as Refuge and Resistance, and I Burned at the Feast: Selected Poems of Arseny Tarkovsky. His work—poetry, translation, essays, fiction, criticism, and scholarship—has garnered fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Lannan Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Ohio Arts Council, and the Watson Foundation. He is the recipient of the Adrienne Rich Award, three Arab American Book Awards, the Lyric Poetry Prize, and the Cleveland Arts Prize. He is professor of English and director of the Peace, Justice, and Human Rights program at John Carroll University.

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series