Main content

Viet Thanh Nguyen

Viet Thanh Nguyen is the author of two novels: The Sympathizer (2015), winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize; and The Committed (2021). He has also published a best-selling short story collection, The Refugees (2017), and two books of non-fiction, including Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War​ (2016), which was a finalist for the National Book Award for Nonfiction. He has received fellowships and awards from, among others, the Guggenheim and MacArthur Foundations, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, and the American Council of Learned Societies. He is currently University Professor, Aerol Arnold Chair of English, and Professor of English, American Studies and Ethnicity, and Comparative Literature at the University of Southern California.

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series