Main content

Colson Whitehead

Colson Whitehead is the author of eight books, including The Intuitionist (1999), John Henry Days (2001), The Colossus of New York (2003), Apex Hides the Hurt (2006), Sag Harbor (2009), Zone One (2011), The Noble Hustle: Poker, Beef Jerky and Death (2015), and Underground Railroad. His reviews, essays, and fiction have appeared in numerous publications, including The New York Times, The New Yorker, New York Magazine, Harper’s, and Granta. The Underground Railroad won the National Book Award in 2016 and the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction in 2017. Whitehead’s honors also include a MacArthur Fellowship, Guggenheim Fellowship, Whiting Writers Award, Dos Passos Prize for Literature, PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award, Young Lions Fiction Award, Anisfield Wolf Book Award, and a fellowship at the Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers. He has taught at Princeton University, New York University, the University of Houston, Columbia University, Brooklyn College, Hunter College, and Wesleyan University, and been a writer in residence at Vassar College, the University of Richmond, and the University of Wyoming.

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series