Main content

Caryl Phillips

Caryl Phillips was born in St. Kitts, brought up in Leeds, and now lives in New York City. He is the editor of two anthologies, has written for television, radio, theatre, and cinema and is the author of three works of nonfiction and eight novels. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, an Honorary Fellow of The Queens College, Oxford University, and currently teaches at Yale. Phillips is the recipient of numerous prizes and awards, including the Martin Luther King Memorial Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Lannan Fellowship, and the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Award for Excellence, and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. His novel Crossing The River was shortlisted for the 1993 Booker Prize. A Distant Shore won the 2004 Commonwealth Writers Prize, and Dancing in the Dark won the 2006 Pen/Beyond the Margins Prize.

Lecture Year


Lecture Series

Durst Distinguished Lecture Series