Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence are system-level honors conferred to acknowledge and provide systemwide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence.

Criteria, Procedure, and Previous Recipients

Chancellor Kristina Johnson is inviting nominations for the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service.

Nominees for the award must be individuals who have repeatedly sought improvement of themselves, their campuses and ultimately the State University and in doing so, have transcended the normal definitions of excellence. Nominees must perform superbly in fulfilling the job description for position held and should also demonstrate excellence in professional activities beyond the parameters of the job description. They should satisfy the standards in a creative and innovative fashion while demonstrating flexibility and adaptability to institutional needs. Capabilities and accomplishments in areas of leadership, decision-making, and problems solving are also considered. (Evidence would include professional recognitions, initiation of ideas, development of proposals, committee activities, etc…)

Criteria for nominees

  • Must be serving in a full-time, professional capacity
  • More than half of their assignment must be in non-teaching services
  • They must have completed at least three years of continuous, full-time, professional service in the last five years prior to the nomination.

Nominations for the award should be received no later than December 1, 2019 and should include:

  • A letter of nomination
  • A copy of the nominee’s most recent vita or resume (short version)
  • Additional supporting documentation, including letters of support.

Send nominations (via email, if possible) to the attention of:

Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions regarding this process. Colleagues who have submitted a nomination in previous years that were not selected are encouraged to resubmit.

Thank you for your involvement in this important process of recognition and reward.

Previous Recipients