Main content

Scholar Athletes Honored by SUNY

Three students selected for their success on and off the field and court.

2017 SUNY Scholar Athlete Award Winners Abigail Cuddy '19, Simon Lai '17, and Emma Porter '18 2017 SUNY Scholar Athlete Award Winners Abigail Cuddy ’19, Simon Lai ’17, and Emma Porter ’18State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher announced 77 recipients of the 2016–17 Scholar Athlete Award, which recognizes outstanding academic excellence and athletic achievement.

Students from Purchase selected for the awards include:

Abigail Cuddy ’19
Mt. Kisco, NY
Women’s Tennis

Cuddy went 8–2 in singles play and 10–3 in doubles, earning a place on the Skyline All-Conference 2nd Team  Women’s Tennis. The sophomore is majoring in psychology.

Simon Lai ’17
Garrison, NY
Men’s Lacrosse

The senior sociology major scored 17 goals and 5 assists during the Men’s Lacrosse first full varsity season.

Emma Porter ’18
Homer, NY
Women’s Lacrosse

Porter is a junior majoring in political science and literature and minoring in the visual arts. She’ll graduate early after the fall semester. She was the team’s leader in goals, assists, and points for the season and was named the Skyline Conference Women’s Lacrosse Player of the Week in April. She also plays soccer for Purchase.

“It takes a tremendous amount of dedication and hard work to achieve such a high level of academic and athletic success,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher.

“Congratulations to all of the students receiving this year’s SUNY scholar athlete award, as well as the faculty, coaches, and staff across SUNY who support and inspire them to be the best,” she adds.

In order to be considered for this award, student athletes were nominated by their campus athletic director. Nominees’ academic credentials and athletic accomplishments were then reviewed by a panel of athletic directors from across the SUNY system and members of the SUNY provost’s office.

The Purchase Panthers compete in the highly competitive NCAA Division III Skyline Conference with 17 intercollegiate variety teams.