Main content


Students selected by their respective Boards of Study receive  these annual awards in Film and Media Studies: 

Film for a Cause Award

This award was created to support junior or senior research projects for students in the School of Film and Media Studies. The award will provide a student with experience producing a professional quality advocacy or training film.

Award Recipient: Paul - Ann Rose

Elayne R. Rubinoff Award

Established in 2003, this award honors Elayne Rubinoff, daughter of Morris and Dorothy Rubinoff, an independent video producer, and founding member of Third Wave Television, an active non-profit organization dedicated to advancing women through the media.  Given annually, it awards a  female student of video production who has superior talent in film and video production. This award is to support the production of a documentary film/video with preference given to projects concerning issues regarding women’s rights.


Current and Former award winners include:

  • 2018-19   Cindy Chen
  • 2017-18   Madalina Albu
  • 2016-17   Kristen DeGirolamo
  • 2015-16   Louise Bartolotta
  • 2014-15   Diorlenny Rodriguez
  • 2013-14   Marie Uridia
  • 2012-13   Joanna Wrzaszcyk