Main content

Purchase students inducted to Sigma Xi Scientific Research Honor Society

This spring, the Purchase College Chapter of Sigma Xi nominated eight seniors to be inducted into this scientific research honor society.

Purchase College would like to congratulate the seniors inducted into Sigma Xi this year. The students are being recognized for their senior research and their ambition to pursue a career in scientific research. 

The class of 2023 includes:

  • Anai Lopez - Biology
  • Danielle Rivera - Biology
  • Hannah Kaebnick - Psychology
  • Jane Singman - Psychology
  • Mackenzie Sky - Biology
  • Peter Brennan - Biology
  • Sage Scott - Psychology
  • Sonia Seth - Biology

The inductees and current members were treated to a presentation from Sarah Ann King, a Purchase College graduate and current Ph.D. candidate at University of Chicago.​ Sarah Ann gave a talk entitled Epidermal BAP1 Removal Leads to Reduced TGFβ1 Signal Transduction in Murine Skin and Hair Follicles.

From Sigma Xi is an international, multidisciplinary community of science, technology, engineering, and mathematical (STEM) professionals dedicated to research excellence, promoting public engagement with science, and fostering the next generation of researchers. Through the recognition and honor of induction to Sigma Xi, its members join a distinguished community of researchers. 

The Purchase College Chapter of Sigma Xi Leadership team includes:

  • Dr. Stephen Harris (President, Biology Faculty)
  • Dr. Elliott Abrams (Vice President, Biology Faculty)
  • Dr. Allyson Jackson (Secretary, Environmental Studies Faculty)
  • Dr. Alexia Toskos (Treasurer, Psychology Faculty)