Main content

Purchase College Represented with Multiple Nominees for 2018 Drama Desk Awards

Assistant Professor in Design/Technology Clint Ramos, Lecturer Dane Laffrey, Lecturer Maruti Evans and Brian MacDevitt ’80 nominated.

From the Drama Desk Awards website:

Drama Desk Awards, which are given annually in a number of categories, are the only major New York City theater honors for which productions on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway compete against each other in the same category. What sets Drama Desk Awards apart is that they are voted on and bestowed by theater critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theater, without any vested interest in the results. For this reason, Drama Desk Awards reflect both enthusiasm for all aspects of New York’s professional theater and a level of erudition and theatrical experience unparalleled in our industry’s other prize-giving organizations.

The following are Purchase College Conservatory of Theatre Art faculty and alum who are nominated for a 2018 Drama Desk Award:

The Hudson Scenic Studio Award for Outstanding Set Design of a Play

Maruti Evans, Kill Move Paradise

Outstanding Set Design for a Musical

Dane Laffrey, Once on This Island

Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical

Clint Ramos, Once on This Island

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical

Brian MacDevitt, Carousel’s article Carousel, SpongeBob SquarePants, Mean Girls Lead 2018 Drama Desk Award Nominations highlights all of the nominees including a slideshow of Tituss Burgess and Jane Krakowski announcing the nominations.