Parents   |   Community   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Office of the Provost
& Academic Affairs

Provost’s Meeting Groups

Academic Affairs Staff

Assessment &
Major Program Reviews

Development & Revision

Faculty Awards

Faculty Resources
& Forms

Initiatives &
Task Force Reports

Notes From the Provost

Home / Office of the Provost & Academic Affairs /

Provost Banner

Internationalization @ Purchase

To the Campus Community
Sept. 9, 2008

Dear Colleagues,

Last spring, Purchase College engaged Kay Thomas of the University of Minnesota and James Pasquill from SUNY Albany to visit the campus and review our international programs and services. We received the consultant’s final report over a month ago and are immediately implementing its primary recommendation, to form an Internationalization @ Purchase Task Force.

The Task Force will examine what and why international activities should be important to Purchase College, what their learning objectives should be, and how international activities fit into the overall educational goals and curriculum of the college. It will develop a clear and concise vision statement for internationalization that articulates the value of international experience to a liberal arts and professional arts education. The Committee will make its report, Internationalization @ Purchase, by April 1, 2009.

I am grateful to Chrys Ingraham for agreeing to chair the Internationalization Task Force, whose other members are Jon Esser, Suzanne Farrin, Tara George, Bryan Roberts, Deirdre Sato, Peter Schwab, Carol Walker, and Renqiu Yu. Two students will also be invited to join the Task Force.

Pursuant to the report’s other recommendations, Deirdre Sato will continue to direct the Office of International Programs and Services, reporting to Student Affairs, and effective immediately, the College’s summer abroad programs will be under the jurisdiction of Chris Persico, Dean of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education, assisted by Associate Dean of the Arts Jon Esser. I thank each of them for their efforts in this important endeavor.


Damian Fernandez, Provost