Press Releases

Albert Baez Joins Jayhawk Collegiate Summer Baseball League

Date Released: 3/3/2010

Pitcher Albert Baez joins a long list of major leaguers whose first step to the pros began with the Kansas based Jayhawk Collegiate Baseball League.

The Jayhawk Collegiate League is a summer baseball league consisting of six teams from six Kansas towns. The league was formed in 1976 and is a "Premier League" within the National Baseball Congress.  Some Jayhawk League alumni  who have become major league stars are Albert Pujols, Lance Berkman, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Andy Benes and Trevor Hoffman. 

Albert Baez , a hard-throwing right hander, led the Panthers to their first playoff appearance in college history.