Academic Calendar: 2020–21 at a Glance

Fall 2020

  • Classes begin: Monday, August 31
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 7 (no classes)
  • Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown on Friday, September 18): Classes in session
  • Yom Kippur (begins at sundown on Sunday, September 27): Classes in session
  • Tuesday, November 3: Election Day–no classes
  • Thanksgiving Recess: Wednesday, November 25 through Sunday, November 29 (no classes)
  • Final exam week: December 14–18
  • Classes end: Friday, December 18

Winter Session 2021 (3 weeks, 100% online)

  • Classes begin: Monday, December 21, 2020
  • Christmas Eve: Thursday, December 24, 2020–no classes
  • Christmas Day: Friday, December 25, 2020–no classes
  • New Year’s Day: Friday, January 1, 2021–no classes
  • Martin Luther King Jr Day: Monday, January 18, 2021
  • Classes end: Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Spring 2021

  • Classes begin: Wednesday, January 20
  • Spring Recess: Saturday, March 27 through Sunday, April 4 (no classes)
  • Final exam week: May 5–11
  • Classes end: Tuesday, May 11
  • Commencement: Friday, May 14

Summer Session 2021

Session I: Monday, June 7 - Friday, July 2
Session II: Monday, June 7 - Friday, July 30
Session III: Monday, July 5 - Friday, July 30


Fall 2020 Academic Calendar

Date

Item

Monday, June 15 Fall 2020 registration begins for nonmatriculated students
Monday, August 31 Fall 2020 full-term classes begin
Monday, August 31 –  Friday, September 4 Late registration[$40 late fee] and add/drop period (full-term courses) for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on September 8)
Friday, September 4 Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Monday, September 7 Labor Day: No classes; some offices close
Tuesday, September 8 Withdrawal period begins
Tuesday, September 8

Senior citizen registration

Monday, September 14 Fall 2020 short-term registration begins
Saturday, September 19 Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown Friday, September 18): Classes in session
Sunday, September 27 – Monday, September 28 Yom Kippur (begins at sundown Sunday, September 27): Classes in session
Monday, October 12 Columbus Day: Classes in session
Monday, October 12 Fall 2020 short-term classes begins
Friday, October 16 Last day to add or drop Fall 2020 short-term courses
Tuesday, November 3 Election Day: No classes
Wednesday, November 4 Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Wednesday, November 4 Last day to withdraw from Fall 2020 full-term courses 
Monday, November 9 – Friday, November 13 Advising week
Monday, November 11 Veterans Day (observed): Classes in session
Monday, November 16 Spring 2021 advance registration begins
Monday, November 16 Last day to withdraw from Fall 2020 short-term courses 
Wednesday, November 25 Residence Halls close at noon
Wednesday, November 25 –Sunday, November 29 Thanksgiving Recess: No classes
Monday, November 30 Face-to-face classes are fully remote
Monday, December 14 – Friday, December 18 Final exam week (refer to the Final Exam Schedule for details)
Friday, December 18 Last day of Fall 2020 full-term classes
Friday, December 18 Last day for January 2021 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects to the Library
Wednesday, December 23 Last day for faculty to submit Fall 2020 grades
Friday, January 15, 2021 Deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades

Winter Session 2021 Academic Calendar (4 weeks, 100% online)

Monday, December 21 Wintersession classes begin

Monday, December 21 –
Tuesday, December 22

Late registration and add/drop period for all students

Thursday, December 24 – 
Friday, December 25

No classes

Monday, December 28

 

Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit option

Friday, January 1, 2021

No classes

Monday, January 11

Last day to withdraw from winter session 2021 courses

Monday, January 18

No classes

Tuesday, January 19

Last day of winter session 2021 classes

Friday, January 22

Last day for faculty to submit winter session 2020 grades

Tuesday, January 26

Deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades


Spring 2021 Academic Calendar

Date

Item

Monday, January 18

Martin Luther King Day: Some offices close

Wednesday, January 20

Spring 2021 full-term classes begin
Wednesday, January 20 – Tuesday, January 26 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period (full-term courses) for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on January 27)
Tuesday, January 26 Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services

Wednesday, January 27

Withdrawal period begins

Wednesday, January 27

Senior citizen registration
Tuesday, February 9 Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Monday, February 15 President’s Day: Classes are in session
Spring 2021 short-term registration begins
Monday, March 8 Spring 2021 short-term classes begin
Friday, March 12 Last day to add or drop Spring 2021 short-term courses
Tuesday, March 23 Last day to withdraw from Spring 2021 full-term courses
Saturday, March 27 – Sunday, April 4 Spring Recess: No classes
Monday, April 5 – Friday, April 9 Advising week
Monday, April 12 Fall 2021 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Fall 2021 Registration Guide for schedule)
Thursday, April 15 Last day to request a medical leave of absence
Monday, April 19 Last day to withdraw from Spring 2021 short-term courses
Wednesday, May 5 – Tuesday, May 11 Final exam week (refer to the Final Exam Schedule for details)
Tuesday, May 11 Last day of Spring 2021 full-term classes
Tuesday, May 11 Last day for May 2021 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
Wednesday, May 12 On-campus residents (excluding graduating students) must check out of residences within 24 hours of their last exam or class, or by 10 a.m. on Wed., May 12, whichever comes first
Friday, May 14 49th Annual Commencement
Monday, May 17 Last day for faculty to submit Spring 2021 grades
Tuesday, June 8 Last day for faculty to resolve Spring 2021 Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer 2021 Academic Calendar

Summer Session I

Date

Item

Monday, June 7

Summer session I classes begin

Monday June 7 – Tuesday, June 8

Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period
Wednesday, June 9 Senior citizen registration
Thursday, June 10 Last day to elect Pass/No Credit grading option 
Tuesday, June 22 Last day to withdraw from summer session I 
Friday, July 2 Last day of summer session I classes
Wednesday, July 7 Last day for faculty to submit summer session I grades
Friday, July 9 Last day for faculty to resolve summer session I Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer Session II

Date

Item

Monday, June 7 Summer session II classes begin
Monday, June 7 – Wednesday, June 9 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period
Thursday, June 10 Senior citizen registration
Wednesday, June 16 Last day to elect Pass/No Credit grading option 
Thursday, July 8 Last day to withdraw from summer session II
Friday, July 30 Last day of summer session II classes
Wednesday, August 4 Last day for faculty to submit summer session II grades
Wednesday, August 11 Last day for faculty to resolve summer session II Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer Session III

Date

Item

Monday, July 5

Summer session III classes begin
Monday, June 5 Tuesday, June 6 Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period
Wednesday, July 7 Senior citizen registration
Tuesday, July 20 Last day to withdraw from summer session III
Thursday, July 28 Last day to elect Pass/No Credit grading option 
Friday, July 30 Last day of summer session III classes
Wednesday, August 4 Last day for faculty to submit summer session III grades
Friday, August 6 Last day for faculty to resolve summer session III Incomplete (“I”) grades

Updated May 14, 2019