Academic Calendar: 2018–19 at a Glance

Jump to: Fall 2018 | Winter 2019 | Spring 2019 | Summer 2019

Academic year 2018–19 at a glance:

  • Fall 2018 semester: Mon., Aug. 27–Fri., Dec. 14, 2018
    Final exam week: Mon., Dec. 10–Fri., Dec. 14, 2018
    Winter break: Sat., Dec. 15, 2018–Tues., Jan. 22, 2019
  • Winter 2019 session: Thurs., Dec. 27, 2018–Fri., Jan. 18, 2019 (3 weeks, 100% online)
  • Spring 2019 semester: Wed., Jan. 23–Tues., May 14, 2019
    Final exam week: Wed., May 8–Tues., May 14, 2019
  • Commencement: Fri., May 17, 2019

Class holidays:

  1. Labor Day: Mon., Sept. 3 (No classes)
  2. Election Day: Tues., Nov. 6 (no classes)
  3. Thanksgiving Recess: Wed.–Sun., Nov. 21–25, 2018 (no classes)
  4. Spring Recess: Sat.–Sun., Mar. 30–April 7, 2019 (no classes)

Summer Session 2019 at a glance:

To be announced

Class holidays:

  1. Independence Day: Thurs., July 4

Please note:

  • Add/drop period: Students are responsible for absences and any coursework missed during the add/drop period. Before adding any course, students are advised to check with the individual faculty member to ensure that they can make up any missed coursework.
  • Student attendance on religious holidays: Please refer to Attendance on Religious Holidays for guidelines.
  • Some offices may close on holidays when classes are in session.
  • In fall 2018, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Columbus Day, and Veterans Day are not official class holidays. In spring 2019, President’s Day is not an official class holiday.

Fall 2018 Academic Calendar

June–September 2018
June–Aug.   Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for Student Orientation dates and information.
July 16 Mon. Fall 2018 registration begins for nonmatriculated students
Aug. 22 & 26 Wed. & Sun. New students move into on-campus residences on Wed., Aug. 22; returning students move in on Sat., Aug. 25.
 
Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for Welcome Week dates and information.
Aug. 23–26 Thurs.–Sun. New students in Phase T.W.O. Orientation. Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for Student Orientation information.
Aug. 27 Mon. Fall 2018 full-term classes begin
Aug. 27–31 Mon.–Fri. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period (full-term courses) for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on Sept. 4)
Aug. 31 Fri. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Sept. 3 Mon. Labor Day: No classes; some offices close
Sept. 4 Tues. Withdrawal period begins
Sept. 4 Tues. Senior citizen registration
Sept. 10 Mon. Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown Sun., Sept. 9): Classes in session
Sept. 17 Mon. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Sept. 18–19 Tues.–Wed. Yom Kippur (begins at sundown Tues., Sept. 18): Classes in session
October 2018
Oct. 8 Mon. Columbus Day: Classes in session
Oct.15 Mon. Fall 2018 short-term classes begin
Oct. 19 Fri. Last day to add or drop fall 2018 short-term courses
Oct. 24 Wed. Mid-Term Progress due for students
Oct. 29 Mon. Last day to withdraw from fall 2018 full-term courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
November 2018
Nov. 5–9 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
Nov. 6 Tues. Election Day: No classes
Nov. 12 Mon. Veterans Day (observed): Classes in session
Spring 2019 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Spring 2019 Registration Guide for schedule)
Nov. 15 Thurs. Last day to request a medical leave of absence
Nov. 19 Mon. Last day to withdraw from fall 2018 short-term courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
Nov. 21–25 Wed.–Sun. Thanksgiving Recess: No classes; Residence Halls close at 9 a.m. on Nov. 21 and reopen at 2 p.m. on Nov. 25
December 2018
Dec. 10–14 Mon.–Fri. Final exam week (refer to the Final Exam Schedule for details)
Dec. 14 Fri. Last day of fall 2018 full-term classes
 
Last day for Jan. 2019 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
 
On-campus residences close at 7 p.m. for winter break
Dec. 19 Wed. Last day for faculty to submit fall 2018 grades [deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades: Jan. 11, 2019]

Winter Session 2019 Academic Calendar (3 weeks, 100% online)

October–December 2018
Oct. 1 Mon. Winter session 2019 registration begins
Dec. 27 Thurs. Winter session 2019 classes begin
Dec. 27–28 Thurs.–Fri. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period for all students
January 2019
Jan. 9 Wed. Last day to withdraw from winter session 2019 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
Jan. 18 Fri. Last day of winter session 2019 classes
Jan. 22 Tues. Last day for faculty to submit winter session 2019 grades [deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades: Jan. 25, 2019]

Spring 2019 Academic Calendar

January 2019
Jan. 11 Fri. Last day for faculty to resolve fall 2018 Incomplete [“I”] grades
Jan. 21 Mon. Martin Luther King Day: Some offices close
Jan. 22 Tues. New students move into on-campus residences on Tues., Jan. 22, 8–11 a.m.; returning residents move in beginning at 11 a.m.

Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for Student Orientation times and information.
Jan. 23 Wed. Spring 2019 full-term classes begin
Jan. 23–29 Wed.–Tues. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period (full-term courses) for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on Jan. 30)
Jan. 29 Tues. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Jan. 30 Wed. Withdrawal period begins
Jan. 30 Wed. Senior citizen registration
February–March 2019
Feb. 12 Tues. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Feb. 18 Mon. President’s Day: Classes are in session
Mar. 11 Mon. Spring 2019 short-term classes begin
Mar. 15 Fri. Last day to add or drop spring 2019 short-term courses
Mar. 23 Sat. Mid-Term Progress due for students
Mar. 26 Tues. Last day to withdraw from spring 2019 full-term courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
Mar. 29 Fri. Residence Halls close at 7 p.m. for Spring Recess
Mar. 30–31 Sat. Spring Recess begins (through Sun., April 7)
April 2019
April 1–7 Mon.–Sun.

Spring Recess continues: No classes

Residence Halls reopen at 2 p.m. on Sun., April 7

April 8–12 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
April 15 Mon. Last day to request a medical leave of absence
April 15 Mon. Fall 2019 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Fall 2019 Registration Guide for schedule)
April 22 Mon. Last day to withdraw from spring 2019 short-term courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
May 2019
May 8–14 Wed.–Tues. Final exam week (refer to the Final Exam Schedule for details)
May 14 Tues. Last day of spring 2019 full-term classes
 
Last day for May 2019 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
May 15 Wed. On-campus residents (excluding graduating students) must check out of residences within 24 hours of their last exam or class, or by 10 a.m. on Wed., May 15, whichever comes first
May 17 Fri. 47th Annual Commencement
 
On-campus residences close at 9 p.m. for all graduates
May 20 Mon. Last day for faculty to submit spring 2019 grades [deadline for resolution of spring 2019 Incomplete grades: June 11, 2019]
June 2019
June 11 Tues. Last day for faculty to resolve spring 2019 Incomplete (“I”) grades

Summer 2019 Academic Calendar

Sessions and dates to be announced

Updated June 22, 2017

^ top