Parents   |   Community   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Academics

Majors & Minors
at a Glance

School of Liberal Arts & Sciences

School of the Arts

School of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education

Faculty

Undergraduate
Core Curriculum

Study Abroad

Accreditation

Home / Academic Programs / Faculty /

faculty

Conservatory of Music: Voice/Opera Studies
Faculty & Visiting Affiliate Artists

Head: Jacque Trussel

Thomas Baird
Lecturer in Music (part-time)
BA, Empire State College, State University of New York.
thomas.baird@purchase.edu

Joshua Benevento
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time)
MusB, MM, Purchase College.
joshua.benevento@purchase.edu | www.joshuabenevento.com

Christopher Colmenero
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time)
MusB, MM, Purchase College. Professional Studies Diploma, Mannes College, The New School for Music.
c.colmenero@purchase.edu

Bonnie Hamilton
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time)
BA, Florida State University.
bonnie.hamilton@purchase.edu

Joan Krueger
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time)
BM, Michigan State University; MM, University of Michigan.
joan.krueger@purchase.edu | joankrueger.com

Hugh Murphy
Associate Professor of Music
BM, MM, Peabody Conservatory of Music, Johns Hopkins University.
hugh.murphy@purchase.edu

Sherry Overholt
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time)
BM, University of Miami; MM, MMA, DMA, Yale University.
sherry.overholt@purchase.edu | www.sherryoverholt.com

David Recca
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Choir Director
MusB, Purchase College; MM, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester; MMA, Yale University.
david.recca@purchase.edu

Kaori Sato
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time)
BM, Miyagi Gakuin College (Japan); MM, Mannes College of Music.
kaori.sato@purchase.edu

Jacque Trussel
Professor of Music
BS, MM, Ball State University. SUNY Research Foundation Award Honoring Research and Scholarship in the Arts, 2007.
jacque.trussel@purchase.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Dennis Helmrich
Assistant Professor Emeritus of Music

BM, MM, Yale University.

David Ostwald
Assistant Professor Emeritus of Music

BA, Reed College; MFA, PhD, Carnegie Mellon University.
davidostwald.com

Updated May 27, 2016


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.



The Voice/Opera Studies Program


Faculty Highlights:


Faculty by Area of Study

Campus Directory
Search for faculty by name or by school or conservatory.

Faculty Coordinators
(Boards of study, academic programs and initiatives)

Faculty Emeriti

Distinguished Professors & Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence (1974–Present)