Faculty Handbook 2016–17
draft in progress

Union Representation

All members of the Purchase College faculty are represented by United University Professions (UUP). UUP is recognized by the state as the exclusive representative for collective negotiations with respect to salaries, wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employment of employees serving in positions in the State University Professional Services Negotiating Unit. UUP is affiliated with New York State United Teachers (NYSUT) and the American Federation of Teachers (AFT), the National Education Association (NEA), and the AFL-CIO.

Academic and professional employees pay a mandatory agency fee (or union dues, for those who choose to become a UUP member) via an after-tax payroll deduction. The fee or dues are (a) one percent of basic annual salary for employees at or above the minimum salary negotiated for the bargaining unit and (b) nine-tenths of one percent of employee’s annual salary for employees earning less than the minimum salary negotiated for the bargaining unit.

Information about UUP dues, agency fees, and membership benefits may be obtained from the UUP chapter office on campus and on the UUP website, uupinfo.org. Detailed information is also available in the Benefits section of this handbook.

Please note: While the 2011–2016 NYS/UUP Agreement expired on July 1, 2016, the vast majority of the provisions in the Agreement do not sunset. The location stipend will remain in place for all full-time employees, and health benefits will remain in place for all employees. The 2011–2016 Agreement has one final 1% presidential discretionary award, which will be announced in the fall 2016 semester. The UUP Chapter Office will provide updates, as available, on the collective bargaining process for the next Agreement; updates will also be posted on the UUP website.

UUP Chapter Office
Administrative Assistant: Glenda Davenport
Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 3004
Tel.: (914) 251-6940
Hours: Tues.–Thurs., 9 a.m.–5:30 p.m.
Chapter website: uuphost.org/purchase

UUP Chapter Officers and Delegates (Executive Board)
Term: June 2015–May 2017
Purchase College is allotted six academic and five professional delegates at the statewide delegate assemblies.


  • Connie Lobur, President
  • Warren Lehrer, Vice President for Academics
  • Mary Garcia, Vice President for Professionals
  • TBA, Secretary
  • Paula Rankine-Belgrave, Treasurer
  • Joe Germani, Interim Grievance Officer
  • TBA, Affirmative Action Officer
  • TBA, Officer for Contingent Employees

Academic Delegates:

  • Karen Baird
  • Paula Halperin
  • Paul Kaplan
  • Warren Lehrer
  • Connie Lobur
  • Jeffrey Taylor

Professional Delegates:

  • Mary Garcia
  • John Hernandez
  • Theresa McElwaine
  • Lorraine Miller
  • Rich Nassisi
  • Eric Wildrick

NYSUT Representatives and AFT Delegates:

  • Eric Wildrick
  • TBA

Updated June 6, 2016

Arrow up icon 

For updates or comments on the contents of this page…