Parents   |   Community   |   Guest   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Home / Enrollment Services / Registrar /

Registrar Banner

Academic Calendar: 2016–17

Fall 2016 | Spring 2017

Academic year 2016–17 at a glance:

  • Fall 2016 semester: Mon., Aug. 29–Fri., Dec. 16, 2016
    Final exam week: Mon., Dec. 12–Fri., Dec. 16, 2016
    Winter break: Sat., Dec. 17, 2016–Tues., Jan. 24, 2017
  • Spring 2017 semester: Wed., Jan. 25–Tues., May 16, 2017
    Final exam week: Wed., May 10–Tues., May 16, 2017
  • Commencement: Fri., May 19, 2017

Class holidays:

  1. Labor Day (Mon., Sept. 5): No classes
  2. Study Day (Tues., Oct. 25): No classes
  3. Thanksgiving Recess: Wed.–Sun., Nov. 23–27, 2016 (no classes)
  4. Spring Recess: Sat.–Sun., April 8–16, 2017 (no classes)*
    *Passover, Good Friday, and Easter fall during Spring Recess

Winter Session and Summer Session Dates
See the winter session and summer session sites for session dates and class holidays, which are determined and published annually (by October for winter session and March for summer session) by the School of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education.

Course Scheduling Calendar (For faculty and staff)
Please refer to the Course Scheduling Dashboard (Office of the Registrar) for dates pertaining to semester course scheduling.

Please note:

  • Add/drop period:
    Students are responsible for absences and any coursework missed during the add/drop period. Before adding any course, students are advised to check with the individual faculty member to ensure that they can make up any missed coursework.
  • Attendance on religious holidays:
    Please refer to College Policies for guidelines.
  • Some offices may close on holidays when classes are in session.
  • In fall 2016, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Columbus Day, Election Day, and Veterans Day are not official class holidays. In spring 2017, President’s Day is not an official class holiday.

Fall 2016 Detailed Calendar:
Aug.–Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.
June–September 2016
June–Aug.   Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for Student Orientation dates and information.
Aug. 26 & 28 Fri. & Sun. New students move into on-campus residences on Fri., Aug. 26; returning students move in on Sun., Aug. 28.
 
Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for Welcome Week dates and information.
Aug. 29 Mon. Fall 2016 classes begin
Aug. 29–Sept. 2 Mon.–Fri. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on Sept. 6)
Sept. 2 Fri. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Sept. 5 Mon. Labor Day: No classes; some offices close
Sept. 6 Tues. Senior citizen registration
Sept. 12 Mon. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
October 2016
Oct. 3–4 Mon.–Tues. Rosh Hashanah: Classes in session
Oct. 10 Mon. Columbus Day: Classes in session
Oct. 11–12 Tues.–Wed. Yom Kippur: Classes in session
Oct. 17–21 Mon.–Fri. Midterm warnings due for liberal arts and sciences students in academic difficulty
Oct. 25 Tues. Study Day: No classes
November 2016
Nov. 1 Tues. Last day to withdraw from fall 2016 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
Nov. 7–11 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
Nov. 8 Tues. Election Day: Classes in session
Nov. 11 Fri. Veterans Day: Classes in session
Nov. 14 Mon. Spring 2017 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Spring 2017 Registration Guide for schedule)
Nov. 23–27 Wed.–Sun. Thanksgiving Recess: No classes; Residence Halls close at 9 a.m. on Nov. 23 and reopen at 2 p.m. on Nov. 27.
December 2016
Dec. 12–16 Mon.–Fri. Final exam week (schedule)
Dec. 16 Fri. Last day of fall 2016 classes
 
Last day for Jan. 2017 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
 
On-campus residences close at 7 p.m. for winter break
Dec. 21 Wed. Last day for faculty to submit fall 2016 grades [deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades: Jan. 13, 2017]

Arrow up icon 

Spring 2017 Detailed Calendar:
Jan. | Feb.–Mar. | April | May | June
January 2017
Jan. 13 Fri. Last day for faculty to resolve fall 2016 Incomplete [“I”] grades
Jan. 16 Mon. Martin Luther King Day: Some offices close
Jan. 23–24 Mon.–Tues. New students move into on-campus residences on Mon., Jan. 23, 1–4 p.m.; returning residents move in on Tues., Jan. 24, 10 a.m.
Jan. 25 Wed. Spring 2017 classes begin
Jan. 25–31 Wed.–Tues. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on Feb. 1)
Jan. 31 Tues. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
February–March 2017
Feb. 1 Wed. Senior citizen registration
Feb. 7 Tues. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Feb. 20 Mon. President’s Day: Classes are in session
Mar. 6–10 Mon.–Fri. Midterm warnings due for liberal arts and sciences students in academic difficulty
Mar. 27–31 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
Mar. 28 Tues. Last day to withdraw from spring 2017 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
April 2017
April 3 Mon. Fall 2017 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Fall 2017 Registration Guide for schedule)
April 7 Fri. Residence Halls close at 7 p.m. for Spring Recess
April 8–16 Sat.–Sun. Spring Recess: No classes
 
Residence Halls reopen at 2 p.m. on Sun., April 16
May 2017
May 10–16 Wed.–Tues. Final exam week (schedule)
May 16 Tues. Last day of spring 2017 classes
 
Last day for May 2017 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
May 17 Wed. On-campus residents (excluding graduating students) must check out of residences within 24 hours of their last exam or class, or by 10 a.m. on Wed., May 17, whichever comes first
May 19 Fri. 45th Annual Commencement
 
On-campus residences close at 9 p.m. for all graduates
May 22 Mon. Last day for faculty to submit spring 2017 grades [deadline for resolution of spring 2017 Incomplete grades: June 13, 2017]
June 2017
June 13 Tues. Last day for faculty to resolve spring 2017 Incomplete (“I”) grades

Posted May 20, 2015

Arrow up icon 



Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs.