Academic Calendar: 2015–16

Fall 2015 | Spring 2016

Academic year 2015–16 at a glance:

  • Fall 2015 semester: Mon., Aug. 31–Fri., Dec. 18, 2015
    Final exam week: Mon., Dec. 14–Fri., Dec. 18, 2015
    Winter break: Sat., Dec. 19, 2015–Tues., Jan. 19, 2016
  • Spring 2016 semester: Wed., Jan. 20–Tues., May 10, 2016
    Final exam week: Wed., May 4–Tues., May 10, 2016
  • Commencement: Fri., May 13, 2016

Class holidays:

  1. Labor Day (Mon., Sept. 7): No classes
  2. Study Day (Tues., Oct. 20): No classes
  3. Thanksgiving Recess: Wed.–Sun., Nov. 25–29, 2015 (no classes)
  4. Spring Recess: Sat.–Sun., March 19–27, 2016 (no classes)*
    *Good Friday and Easter fall during Spring Recess

Winter Session and Summer Session Dates
See the winter session and summer session sites for session dates and class holidays, which are determined and published annually (by October for winter session and March for summer session) by the School of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education.

Course Scheduling Calendar (For faculty and staff)
Please refer to the Course Scheduling Dashboard (Office of the Registrar) for dates pertaining to semester course scheduling.

Please note:

  • Add/drop period:
    Students are responsible for absences and any coursework missed during the add/drop period. Before adding any course, students are advised to check with the individual faculty member to ensure that they can make up any missed coursework.
  • Attendance on religious holidays:
    Please refer to College Policies for guidelines.
  • Some offices may close on holidays when classes are in session.
  • In fall 2015, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Columbus Day, and Veterans Day are not official class holidays. In spring 2015, President’s Day is not an official class holiday.

Fall 2015 Detailed Calendar:
June–Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.
June–September 2015
June–Aug.   Orientation:
Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for the 2015 dates of New Student Orientation, along with detailed information.
Aug. 27 & 30 Thurs. & Sun. New students move into on-campus residences on Thurs., Aug. 27; returning students move in on Sun., Aug. 30. Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for the dates of Welcome Days.
Aug. 31 Mon. Fall 2015 classes begin
Aug. 31–Sept. 4 Mon.–Fri. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on Sept. 8)
Sept. 4 Fri. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Sept. 7 Mon. Labor Day: No classes; some offices close
Sept. 8 Tues. Senior citizen registration
Sept. 14 Mon. Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown Sun., Sept. 13): Classes in session
Sept. 18 Fri. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Sept. 22–23 Tues.–Wed. Yom Kippur (begins at sundown Tues., Sept. 22): Classes in session
October 2015 Arrow up icon
Oct. 12 Mon. Columbus Day: Classes in session
Oct. 19–23 Mon.–Fri. Midterm warnings due for liberal arts and sciences students in academic difficulty
Oct. 20 Tues. Study Day: No classes
November 2015 Arrow up icon
Nov. 3 Tues. Last day to withdraw from fall 2015 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
Nov. 9–13 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
Nov. 11 Wed. Veterans Day: Classes in session
Nov. 16 Mon. Spring 2016 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Spring 2016 Registration Guide for schedule)
Nov. 25–29 Wed.–Sun. Thanksgiving Recess: No classes; Residence Halls close at 9 a.m. on Nov. 26 and reopen at 2 p.m. on Nov. 29.
December 2015 Arrow up icon
Dec. 14–18 Mon.–Fri. Final exam week (schedule)
Dec. 18 Fri. Last day of fall 2015 classes
 
Last day for Jan. 2016 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
 
On-campus residences close at 7 p.m. for winter break
Dec. 22 Tues. Last day for faculty to submit fall 2015 grades [deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades: Jan. 15, 2016]

Arrow up icon 

Spring 2016 Detailed Calendar:
Jan. | Feb.–Mar. | April | May | June
January 2016
Jan. 15 Fri. Last day for faculty to resolve fall 2015 Incomplete [“I”] grades
Jan. 18–19 Mon.–Tues. New students move into on-campus residences on Mon., Jan. 18, 1–4 p.m.; returning residents move in on Tues., Jan. 19, 10 a.m.
 
Martin Luther King Day, Mon., Jan. 18: Some offices close
Jan. 20 Wed. Spring 2016 classes begin
Jan. 20–26 Wed.–Tues. Late registration [$40 late fee] and add/drop period for all students (except senior citizen auditors, who register on Jan. 27)
Jan. 26 Tues. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Jan. 27 Wed. Senior citizen registration
February–March 2016 Arrow up icon
Feb. 9 Tues. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Feb. 15 Mon. President’s Day: Classes are in session
Feb. 29–Mar. 4 Mon.–Fri. Midterm warnings due for liberal arts and sciences students in academic difficulty
Mar. 18 Fri. Residence Halls close at 7 p.m. for Spring Recess
Mar. 19–27 Sat.–Sun. Spring Recess: No classes
 
Residence Halls reopen at 2 p.m. on Sun., Mar. 27
Mar. 29 Tues. Last day to withdraw from spring 2016 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
April 2016 Arrow up icon
April 4–8 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
April 11 Mon. Fall 2016 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Fall 2016 Registration Guide for schedule)
May 2016 Arrow up icon
May 4–10 Wed.–Tues. Final exam week (schedule)
May 10 Tues. Last day of spring 2016 classes
 
Last day for May 2016 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
May 11 Wed. On-campus residents (excluding graduating students) must check out of residences within 24 hours of their last exam or class, or by 10 a.m. on Wed., May 10, whichever comes first
May 13 Fri. 44th Annual Commencement
 
On-campus residences close at 10 p.m. for all graduates
May 16 Mon. Last day for faculty to submit spring 2016 grades [deadline for resolution of spring 2016 Incomplete grades: June 7, 2016]
June 2016 Arrow up icon
June 7 Tues. Last day for faculty to resolve spring 2016 Incomplete (“I”) grades

Updated Nov. 10, 2014

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs.