Academic Calendar: 2014–15

Fall 2014 | Spring 2015

Academic year 2014–15 at a glance:

  • Fall 2014 semester: Mon., Aug. 25–Fri., Dec. 19, 2014
    Final exam week: Mon., Dec. 15–Fri., Dec. 19, 2014
    Winter break: Sat., Dec. 20, 2014–Tues., Jan. 20, 2015
  • Spring 2015 semester: Wed., Jan. 21–Tues., May 12, 2015
    Final exam week: Wed., May 6–Tues., May 12, 2015
  • Commencement: Fri., May 15, 2015

Class holidays:

  1. Labor Day (Mon., Sept. 1): No classes
  2. Rosh Hashanah: No classes on Wed.–Thurs., Sept. 24–25
  3. Yom Kippur: No classes on Fri.–Sat., Oct. 3–4
  4. Columbus Day (Mon., Oct. 13): No classes
  5. Election Day (Tues., Nov. 4): No classes
  6. Veterans Day (Tues., Nov. 11): No classes
  7. Thanksgiving Recess: Wed.–Sun., Nov. 26–30, 2014 (no classes)
  8. Spring Recess: Sat.–Sun., March 28–April 5, 2015 (no classes)*
    Passover, Good Friday, and Easter fall during Spring Recess

Winter Session and Summer Session Dates
See the winter session and summer session sites for session dates and class holidays, which are determined and published annually (by October for winter session and March for summer session) by the School of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education.

Course Scheduling Calendar (For faculty and staff)
Please refer to the Course Scheduling Dashboard (Office of the Registrar) for dates pertaining to semester course scheduling.

Please note:

  • Add/drop period:
    Students are responsible for absences and any coursework missed during the add/drop period. Before adding any course, students are advised to check with the individual faculty member to ensure that they can make up any missed coursework.
  • Attendance on religious holidays:
    Please refer to College Policies for guidelines.
  • Some offices may close on holidays when classes are in session.
  • In spring 2015, President’s Day is not an official class holiday.

Fall 2014 Detailed Calendar:
July–Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.
July–August 2014
July–Aug.   Orientation:
Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for the 2014 dates of New Student Orientation, along with detailed information.
Aug. 21 & 24 Thurs. & Sun. 4/17/14 update: New students move into on-campus residences on Thurs., Aug. 21; returning students move in on Sun., Aug. 24.
 
Please visit www.purchase.edu/orientation for the dates of Welcome Days.
Aug. 25 Mon. Fall 2014 classes begin
Aug. 25–29 Mon.–Fri. Add/drop period for all students
 
Late registration [$40 late fee] for all students
Aug. 29 Fri. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Sept. 2014 Arrow up icon
Sept. 1 Mon. Labor Day: No classes; some offices close
Sept. 2 Tues. Senior citizen registration
Sept. 8 Mon. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Sept. 24–25 Wed.–Thurs. Rosh Hashanah: No classes on Wed.–Thurs., Sept. 24–25
October 2014 Arrow up icon
Oct. 3–4 Fri.–Sat. Yom Kippur: No classes on Fri.–Sat., Oct. 3–4
Oct. 13 Mon. Columbus Day: No classes
Oct. 13–24 Mon.–Fri. Midterm warnings due for liberal arts and sciences students in academic difficulty
Oct. 31 Fri. Last day to withdraw from fall 2014 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
November 2014 Arrow up icon
Nov. 4 Tues. Election day: No classes
Nov. 10–14 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
Nov. 11 Tues. Veterans Day: No classes
Nov. 17 Mon. Spring 2015 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Spring 2015 Registration Guide for schedule)
Nov. 26–30 Wed.–Sun. Thanksgiving Recess: No classes; Residence Halls close at 9 a.m. on Nov. 26 and reopen at 2 p.m. on Nov. 30.
December 2014 Arrow up icon
Dec. 15–19 Mon.–Fri. Final exam week (schedule)
Dec. 19 Fri. Last day of fall 2014 classes
 
Last day for Jan. 2015 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
 
On-campus residences close at 7 p.m. for winter break
Dec. 23 Tues. Last day for faculty to submit fall 2014 grades [deadline for resolution of Incomplete grades: Jan. 16, 2015]

Arrow up icon 

Spring 2015 Detailed Calendar:
Jan. | Feb. | Mar. | April | May | June
January 2015
Jan. 16 Fri. Last day for faculty to resolve fall 2014 Incomplete [“I”] grades
Jan. 19–20 Mon.–Tues. New students move into on-campus residences on Mon., Jan. 19, 1–4 p.m.; returning residents move in on Tues., Jan. 20, 10 a.m.
 
Martin Luther King Day, Mon., Jan. 19: Some offices close
Jan. 21 Wed. Spring 2015 classes begin
Jan. 21–27 Wed.–Tues. Add/drop period for all students
 
Late registration [$40 late fee] for all students
Jan. 27 Tues. Last day to submit NY State residency application to the Office of Student Financial Services
Jan. 28 Wed. Senior citizen registration
February 2015 Arrow up icon
Feb. 3 Tues. Last day to apply for Pass/No Credit (P/NC) option
Feb. 16 Mon. President’s Day: Classes are in session
March 2015 Arrow up icon
Mar. 2–17 Mon.–Tues. Midterm warnings due for liberal arts and sciences students in academic difficulty
Mar. 24 Tues. Last day to withdraw from spring 2015 courses without academic penalty (“W” grade)
Mar. 27 Fri. Residence Halls close at 7 p.m. for Spring Recess
Mar. 28–31 Sat.–Tues. Spring Recess: No classes (continues through Sun., April 5)
April 2015 Arrow up icon
April 1–5 Wed.–Sun. Spring Recess continues: No classes
Residence Halls reopen at 2 p.m. on Sun., April 5
April 6–10 Mon.–Fri. Advising week
April 13 Mon. Fall 2015 registration begins for matriculated students (refer to the Fall 2015 Registration Guide for schedule)
May 2015 Arrow up icon
May 6–12 Wed.–Tues. Final exam week (schedule)
May 12 Tues. Last day of spring 2015 classes
May 13 Wed. On-campus residents (excluding graduating students) must check out of residences within 24 hours of their last exam or class, or by 10 a.m. on Wed., May 13, whichever comes first
May 15 Fri. 43rd Annual Commencement
 
Last day for May 2015 graduates to submit senior or master’s projects via Moodle to the Library
 
On-campus residences close at 10 p.m. for all graduates
May 18 Mon. Last day for faculty to submit spring 2015 grades [deadline for resolution of Spring 2015 Incomplete grades: June 9, 2015]
June 2015 Arrow up icon
June 9 Tues. Last day for faculty to resolve spring 2015 Incomplete (“I”) grades

Updated May 21, 2014


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs.