Faculty: Sociology

School of Natural and Social Sciences:
Sociology Faculty (Board of Study)

Matthew Immergut
Associate Professor of Sociology
BA, Prescott College; MA, PhD, Drew University.
matthew.immergut@purchase.edu

Chrys Ingraham
Professor of Sociology
BA, MA, MPA, PhD, Syracuse University.
chrys.ingraham@purchase.edu

Kristen Karlberg
Visiting Assistant Professor of Sociology
BS, Stephens College; MPH, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences; PhD, University of California, San Francisco.
kristen.karlberg@purchase.edu

Wendy McKenna
Professor of Sociology
(part-time)
BA, Antioch College; PhD, City University of New York.
wendy.mckenna@purchase.edu

Mary Kosut
Associate Professor of Sociology
BA, MA, University of New Orleans; PhD, New School for Social Research.
mary.kosut@purchase.edu

Lisa Jean Moore
Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies and
Doris and Carl Kempner Distinguished Professor (2015–17)
BA, Tufts University; MPH, University of California, Berkeley; PhD, University of California, San Francisco. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
lisa-jean.moore@purchase.edu

Alexis Maxine Silver
Assistant Professor of Sociology
BA, Colorado College; MA, PhD, University of North Carolina.
alexis.silver@purchase.edu

Liza G. Steele
Assistant Professor of Sociology
BA, Columbia University; MA, PhD, Princeton University.
liza.steele@purchase.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Thomas E. Dow Jr.
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

BA, City University of New York; MA, PhD, University of Pennsylvania.

Joseph Fashing
Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology

BA, MA, University of California, Santa Barbara; PhD, University of Oregon; JD, Pace University.

John Howard
Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Sociology

BA, Brandeis University; MA, New York University; PhD, Stanford University; JD, Pace University.

Nathaniel Siegel
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

BA, Brooklyn College; MA, PhD, New York University. Senior vice president for academic affairs, Purchase College, 1979–94.

Updated June 22, 2016

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.