Faculty: History

School of Humanities:
History Faculty (Board of Study)

Leandro Benmergui
Assistant Professor of History

BA, University of Buenos Aires; PhD, University of Maryland, College Park.
leandro.benmergui@purchase.edu

Laura M. Chmielewski
Associate Professor of History

BA, St. Joseph’s University; MA, Fordham University; MPhil, PhD, City University of New York Graduate Center.
laura.chmielewski@purchase.edu

Geoffrey Field
Professor of History

BA, MA, St. Catherine’s College, Oxford University; PhD, Columbia University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.
geoffrey.field@purchase.edu

Rachel Hallote (on leave Fall 2014)
Professor of History
BA, Bryn Mawr College; MA, PhD, University of Chicago. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
rachel.hallote@purchase.edu

Paula Halperin
Assistant Professor of Latin American History
BA, University of Buenos Aires; PhD, University of Maryland.
paula.halperin@purchase.edu

Lisa Keller
Professor of History
BA, Vassar College; PhD, Cambridge University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service.
lisa.keller@purchase.edu

Diana Reinhard
Assistant Professor of History

BA, MA, Loyola College; MA, American University; PhD, Temple University.
diana.reinhard@purchase.edu

Wayne te Brake
Professor of History

BA, Calvin College; PhD, University of Michigan. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
wayne.tebrake@purchase.edu

Renqiu Yu
Professor of History

BA, Sun Yat-sen University, China; MA, University of California, Los Angeles; PhD, New York University.
ren.yu@purchase.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Jean Herskovits
Research Professor of History

BA, Swarthmore College; PhD, Oxford University.

Alfred Hunt
Professor Emeritus of History

BA, St. Edwards University; MA, PhD, University of Texas. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Dean of the College of Letters and Science, Purchase College, 1989–99.

Carl Resek
Professor Emeritus of History

BA, University of Wisconsin; PhD, University of Rochester. Founding dean of humanities at Purchase College.

Updated June 2, 2014

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.