Faculty: Latin American Studies

Interdisciplinary:
Latin American Studies Faculty

Leandro Benmergui
Assistant Professor of History

School of Humanities
BA, University of Buenos Aires; PhD, University of Maryland, College Park.
leandro.benmergui@purchase.edu

Marc Brudzinski
Assistant Professor of Language and Culture

School of Humanities
BA, Williams College; PhD, Duke University.
marc.brudzinski@purchase.edu

Patrice Giasson
Curator of Art of the Americas

Neuberger Museum of Art
MA, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México; BA, MA, PhD, University of Montreal.
patrice.giasson@purchase.edu

John Gitlitz
Associate Professor of Political Science
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Oberlin College; MA, PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
john.gitlitz@purchase.edu

Ager Gondra-Astigarraga
Assistant Professor of Language and Culture

School of Humanities
BA, MAT, Universidad de Deusto (Spain); MA, PhD, Purdue University.
ager.gondra@purchase.edu

Paula Halperin
Assistant Professor of Latin American History
School of Humanities
BA, University of Buenos Aires; PhD, University of Maryland.
paula.halperin@purchase.edu

Chrys Ingraham
Professor of Sociology and
Juanita and Joseph Leff Distinguished Professor (2014–15)
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, MA, MPA, PhD, Syracuse University.
chrys.ingraham@purchase.edu

Gari LaGuardia
Associate Professor of Spanish and Literature

School of Humanities
BA, Columbia University; PhD, University of Pennsylvania.
gari.laguardia@purchase.edu

Susan Letcher (on leave Spring 2015)
Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Carleton College; PhD, University of Connecticut, Storrs.
susan.letcher@purchase.edu

Alexis Maxine Silver (on leave Spring 2015)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Colorado College; MA, PhD, University of North Carolina.
alexis.silver@purchase.edu

Liza G. Steele
Assistant Professor of Sociology

School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Columbia University; MA, PhD, Princeton University. liza.steele@purchase.edu

Agustin Zarzosa (on leave 2014–15)
Assistant Professor of Cinema Studies
School of Film and Media Studies
BA, Universidad Iberoamericana; MA, New York University; PhD, University of California, Los Angeles.
agustin.zarzosa@purchase.edu

Updated Aug. 28, 2014

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.