Conservatory of Music: Instrumental Performance (Classical)
Faculty & Visiting Affiliate Artists

Strings | Piano | Brass | Percussion | Woodwinds | Classical Guitar
Faculty Emeriti


Ransom Wilson
Assistant Professor of Music
(part-time), Orchestra Conductor
BM, The Juilliard School; postgraduate Atlantique Fellowship (studies with J.P. Rampal, Institute of International Education, France).
ransom.wilson@purchase.edu | www.ransomwilson.com


STRINGS (includes harp)

Head: Julia Lichten

Deborah Buck
Assistant Professor of Music
(part-time), Violin
BM, The Juilliard School; MM, University of Southern California.
deborah.buck@purchase.edu | www.deborahbuck.net

Timothy Cobb
Associate Professor of Music (part-time), Bass
BM, Curtis Institute of Music.
timothy.cobb@purchase.edu

Danielle Farina
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Viola
BM, Curtis Institute of Music.
danielle.farina@purchase.edu | daniellefarina.com

Julia Lichten
Associate Professor of Music, Cello
BA, Harvard University; MM, New England Conservatory of Music.
julia.lichten@purchase.edu

Beatriz Martin-Ruiz
Lecturer in Music (part-time), Harp
BM, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Performance Diploma and Artist Diploma, Real Conservatorio Superior de Musica, Madrid (Spain).
beatriz.martin-ruiz@purchase.edu

Calvin Wiersma
Associate Professor of Music, Violin
BM, Oberlin College; MM, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
cal.wiersma@purchase.edu | www.cygnusensemble.com

Carmit Rinehart Zori
Assistant Professor of Music
(part-time), Violin
BM, Curtis Institute of Music.
carmit.rinehart@purchase.edu | www.concordiaplayers.org/zori.htm


PIANO

Head: Paul Ostrovsky

Stephanie Brown (on leave Fall 2014)
Associate Professor of Music, Piano
BM, The Juilliard School.
stephanie.brown@purchase.edu

Miyoko Lotto (Fall 2014)
BS, MS, The Juilliard School.
miyoko.lotto@purchase.edu

Margaret (Peggy) Kampmeier (Fall 2014)
DMA, Stony Brook University, SUNY.
margaret.kampmeier@purchase.edu

Paul Ostrovsky
Professor of Music, Piano
MM, Moscow State Conservatory of Music.
paul.ostrovsky@purchase.edu


BRASS

Heads: Timothy Albright and Peter Reit

Timothy Albright
Lecturer in Music (part-time), Trombone
timothy.albright@purchase.edu

Graham Ashton
Professor of Music, Trumpet
and Director, Conservatory of Music
Performance Diploma, Royal Academy of Music.
graham.ashton@purchase.edu | www.grahamashton.com

Richard Clymer
Visiting Affiliate Artist (part-time), Trumpet
richard.clymer@purchase.edu

Raymond Mase
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Trumpet
BM, New England Conservatory.
raymond.mase@purchase.edu | www.stantonmgt.com

Dan Peck
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Tuba
dan.peck@purchase.edu | danpeckmusic.com

Peter Reit
Lecturer in Music (part-time), French Horn
BM, Manhattan School of Music.
peter.reit@purchase.edu | newyorkchamberbrass.com

Arrow up icon 


PERCUSSION

Head: Dominic Donato

Dominic Donato
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Percussion
BA, MM, State University of New York, Stony Brook; DMA, Manhattan School of Music.
dominic.donato@purchase.edu | www.musicfortamtams.com

Pablo Rieppi
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Percussion
BM, George Mason University; MM, The Juilliard School.
pablo.rieppi@purchase.edu | www.pablorieppi.com


WOODWINDS

Head: Tara O’Connor

Monica Ellis
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Bassoon
BM, Oberlin College; MM, The Juilliard School.
monica.ellis@purchase.edu | www.imaniwinds.com

Cynde Iverson
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Bassoon
BM, Indiana University; MM, The Juilliard School.

Adrian Morejon
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Bassoon
BM, Curtis Institute of Music; MM, Artist Diploma, Yale University.
adrian.morejon@purchase.edu | www.adrianmorejon.com

Ayako Oshima Neidich
Assistant Professor of Music
(part-time), Clarinet
BM, Toho School of Music (Tokyo); additional studies, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
ayako.oshima@purchase.edu

Tara O’Connor
Associate Professor of Music, Flute
BA, MM, DMA, State University of New York, Stony Brook.
tara.oconnor@purchase.edu | www.cygnusensemble.com

James Austin Smith
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Oboe
BA, BM, Northwestern University; MM, Yale University.
james-a.smith@purchase.edu | www.jamesaustinsmith.com


CLASSICAL GUITAR

Head: João Luiz

João Luiz
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Classical Guitar
BM, Faculdade de Artes Alcântara Machado, São Paulo (Brazil); MM, Mannes College of Music.
joao.luiz@purchase.edu


Faculty Emeriti

Alvin Brehm
Professor Emeritus of Music
(double bass, chamber music)
BS, MA, Columbia University; Graduate Diploma, The Juilliard School.

Raymond Des Roches
Associate Professor Emeritus of Music
(percussion)
BM, MM, Manhattan School of Music.

Robert Fertitta
Associate Professor Emeritus of Music
(organ, harpsichord)
BA, Hunter College, City University of New York; MA, Queens College, City University of New York; studied with Nadia Boulanger at L’Ecoles d’Art Americaines de Fontainebleau.

Frederic Hand
Lecturer Emeritus in Music
(classical guitar)
BM, Mannes College of Music. Guitar studies with Leonid Bolotine, Julian Bream, Albert Valdes-Blain, and Jim Hall.
www.frederichand.com

Humbert Lucarelli
Assistant Professor Emeritus of Music
(oboe)
BM, Chicago Musical College, Roosevelt University.
www.lucarellioboemasterclass.com

Donald MacCourt
Professor Emeritus of Music
(bassoon)
BA, San Francisco State College; MM, Manhattan School of Music.

Sandra Miller
Professor Emerita of Music
(flute)
BM, Curtis Institute of Music.

Anthony Newman
Professor Emeritus of Music
(organ, harpsichord)
Diplóme Superieure, l’Ecole Normale de Musique (Paris); BS, Mannes College of Music; MA, Harvard University; DMA, Boston University.
www.anthonynewmanmusician.org

Marianna Khazanova-Salzman
Associate Professor Emerita of Music
(piano, keyboard studies)
Diploma, Moscow State Conservatory of Music; MPP, Gnesin Musical and Pedagogical Institute (Moscow).

Daphne Spottiswoode
Associate Professor Emerita of Music
(piano, keyboard studies)
Scholarship studies, Royal Academy of Music.

Updated July 25, 2014

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.


Instrumental Performance Programs:
- Strings
- Piano
- Brass
- Percussion
- Woodwinds
- Classical Guitar


Faculty Highlights:


Faculty by Area of Study

Campus Directory
Search for faculty by name or by school or conservatory.

Faculty Coordinators
(Boards of study, academic programs and initiatives)

Faculty Emeriti

Distinguished Professors & Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence (1974–Present)