Conservatory of Music: Jazz Studies
Faculty & Visiting Affiliate Artists

Head: Pete Malinverni

John Abercrombie
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Guitar
BM, Berklee College of Music.
john.abercrombie@purchase.edu | www.johnabercrombie.com

Eric Alexander
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Saxophone
BM, William Paterson University.
eric.alexander@purchase.edu | www.ericalexanderjazz.com

Charles Blenzig
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Piano
Studied with Roland Kohloff at Manhattanville College.
charles.blenzig@purchase.edu | www.charlesblenzig.com

Scott Colley
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Bass
BM, California Institute of the Arts.
scott.colley@purchase.edu | www.scottcolley.com

Todd Coolman
Professor of Music (part-time), Bass
BM, Indiana University; MM, Manhattan School of Music; PhD, New York University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.
todd.coolman@purchase.edu | www.toddcoolman.org

David DeJesus
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Latin Jazz Orchestra Conductor
MusB, Purchase College; MM, Manhattan School of Music.
david.dejesus@purchase.edu

Jon Faddis
Professor of Music, Trumpet
Jazz Masters award, Temple University; honorary PhD, Manhattan School of Music.
jon.faddis@purchase.edu | www.myspace.com/jonfaddistrumpet

Kevin Hays
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Piano
kevin.hays@purchase.edu | www.kevinhays.com

David Hazeltine
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Piano
BA, University of Wisconsin.
david.hazeltine@purchase.edu | www.davidhazeltine.com

Ralph Lalama
Lecturer in Music (part-time), Saxophone
BMEd, Youngstown State University.
ralph.lalama@purchase.edu | ralphlalama.com

Pete Malinverni
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Piano
BM, State University of New York, Potsdam; MM, Purchase College.
peter.malinverni@purchase.edu | petemalinverni.com

Richie Morales
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Drums
BM, MFA, Purchase College.
richie.morales@purchase.edu | www.richiemorales.com

Doug Munro
Professor of Music, Guitar
BS, Westchester Conservatory/Mercy College; BSEd, State University of New York, Cortland; MFA, Purchase College. Founding director of the jazz studies program.
doug.munro@purchase.edu | www.dougmunro.com

John Riley
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Drums
BM, University of North Texas; MM, Manhattan School of Music.
john.riley@purchase.edu | www.johnriley.org

Gary Smulyan
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Saxophone
gary.smulyan@purchase.edu | garysmulyan.com

Kenny Washington
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Drums
Studied with Rudy Collins.
kenny.washington@purchase.edu | www.drummerworld.com/drummers/kenny_washington.html

Doug Weiss
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Bass
doug.weiss@purchase.edu

Contributing Faculty

Ted Piltzecker (Vibraphones): Studio Composition

Faculty Emeriti

Hal Galper
Lecturer Emeritus in Music (piano)
Diploma, Berklee College of Music.
www.halgalper.com

Updated July 25, 2014

Arrow up icon

 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.