Parents   |   Community   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Academics

Majors & Minors
at a Glance

School of Liberal Arts & Sciences

School of the Arts

School of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education

Faculty

Undergraduate
Core Curriculum

Study Abroad

Accreditation

Home / Academic Programs / Faculty /

Conservatory of Music: Jazz Studies
Faculty & Visiting Affiliate Artists

Head: Pete Malinverni

John Abercrombie
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Guitar
BM, Berklee College of Music.
john.abercrombie@purchase.edu | www.johnabercrombie.com

Eric Alexander
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Saxophone
BM, William Paterson University.
eric.alexander@purchase.edu | www.ericalexanderjazz.com

Charles Blenzig
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Piano
Studied with Roland Kohloff at Manhattanville College.
charles.blenzig@purchase.edu

Alexis Cole
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Jazz Voice
BM, William Paterson University; MM, Queens College, City University of New York.
alexis.cole@purchase.edu | www.alexiscole.com

Todd Coolman
Professor of Music (part-time), Bass
BM, Indiana University; MM, Manhattan School of Music; PhD, New York University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. SUNY Research Foundation Award Honoring Research and Scholarship in the Arts, 2006.
todd.coolman@purchase.edu | www.toddcoolman.org

David DeJesus
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Latin Jazz Orchestra Conductor
MusB, Purchase College; MM, Manhattan School of Music.
david.dejesus@purchase.edu

Jon Faddis
Professor of Music, Trumpet
Jazz Masters award, Temple University; honorary PhD, Manhattan School of Music.
jon.faddis@purchase.edu | www.terangajazz.com

Kevin Hays
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Piano
kevin.hays@purchase.edu | www.kevinhays.com

David Hazeltine
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Piano
BA, University of Wisconsin.
david.hazeltine@purchase.edu | www.davidhazeltine.com

Ingrid Jensen
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Trumpet
BM, Berklee College of Music.
ingrid.jensen@purchase.edu | ingridjensen.com

Vic Juris
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Guitar
victor.jurusz-jr@purchase.edu

Ralph Lalama
Lecturer in Music (part-time), Saxophone
BMEd, Youngstown State University.
ralph.lalama@purchase.edu | ralphlalama.com

Andy LaVerne
Visiting Affiliate Artist (part-time), Piano
Studied at The Juilliard School, Ithaca College, Berklee College, and New England Conservatory.
andy.laverne@purchase.edu | www.andylaverne.com

Pete Malinverni
Assistant Professor of Practice in Music, Piano
BM, State University of New York, Potsdam; MM, Purchase College.
peter.malinverni@purchase.edu | petemalinverni.com

Richie Morales
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Drums
BM, MFA, Purchase College.
richie.morales@purchase.edu | www.richiemorales.com

John Mosca
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Jazz Trombone
BM, The Juilliard School.
john.mosca@purchase.edu | www.vanguardjazzorchestra.com/theband

Doug Munro (on leave Fall 2016)
Professor of Music, Guitar
BS, Westchester Conservatory/Mercy College; BSEd, State University of New York, Cortland; MFA, Purchase College. Founding director of the jazz studies program.
doug.munro@purchase.edu | www.dougmunro.com

John Riley
Assistant Professor of Music (part-time), Drums
BM, University of North Texas; MM, Manhattan School of Music.
john.riley@purchase.edu | www.johnriley.org

Gary Smulyan
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Saxophone
Studied at Hofstra University.
gary.smulyan@purchase.edu | garysmulyan.com

Donald Vega
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time), Piano
BA, University of Southern California; MA, Manhattan School of Music; Artist Diploma, The Juilliard School.
donald.vega@purchase.edu | www.donaldvega.com

Kenny Washington
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Drums
Studied with Rudy Collins.
kenny.washington@purchase.edu | www.drummerworld.com/drummers/kenny_washington.html

Doug Weiss
Lecturer in Music
(part-time), Bass
doug.weiss@purchase.edu | www.doogalabassmusic.com

Contributing Faculty

Ted Piltzecker (Vibraphones): Studio Composition

Faculty Emeriti

Hal Galper
Lecturer Emeritus in Music (piano)
Diploma, Berklee College of Music.
www.halgalper.com

Updated June 23, 2016

Arrow up icon

 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.



The Jazz Studies Program (Performance)


Faculty Highlights:


Faculty by Area of Study

Campus Directory
Search for faculty by name or by school or conservatory.

Faculty Coordinators
(Boards of study, academic programs and initiatives)

Faculty Emeriti

Distinguished Professors & Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence (1974–Present)