Parents   |   Community   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Office of the Provost
& Academic Affairs

Provost’s Meeting Groups

Academic Affairs Staff

Assessment &
Major Program Reviews

Development & Revision

Faculty Awards

Faculty Resources
& Forms

Initiatives &
Task Force Reports

Notes From the Provost

Home / Office of the Provost & Academic Affairs / Faculty Awards

Provost Banner

Junior Faculty Development Leave Awards


Application deadline: October 3, 2016

Conditions | Eligibility | Application | Selection Process

We are pleased to announce the start of the annual selection process for Junior Faculty Development Leave Awards. Faculty selected are offered a semester’s leave at full salary during which they are released from all teaching and service obligations to the college. Awards may be used for either the fall or spring semester of the 2017–18 academic year.

Junior faculty members often assume such heavy responsibilities for teaching and service that their scholarly or artistic development may be impeded at just the moment in their careers when renewal and tenure decisions require evidence of significant achievement. These awards are, in effect, internal fellowships that provide an opportunity for junior, untenured faculty to concentrate exclusively on advancing or completing an important professional or scholarly project.

This program is an important opportunity for the advancement of our junior faculty, and we encourage all who are eligible, including prior candidates, to apply. We regret that late, incomplete, or ineligible applications will have to be returned.

Guidelines for Purchase College
Junior Faculty Development Leave Awards

1. Conditions

2. Eligibility

3. Application

4. Selection Process

Updated May 10, 2016

Arrow up icon 

Faculty Awards (main)

Junior Faculty Development Leave Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2016–17
Junior Faculty Development Leave Award recipients!

Michel Bell-Smith
New Media

Cédric Ceulemans

Donna Cornachio

Anthony Domestico

Ager Gondra
Language and Culture

Yanine Hess

Mark Jonas

Shruti Rajagapolan

Liza Steele

Hakan Topol
New Media and Graphic Design