Parents   |   Community   |   Guest   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Office of the Provost
& Academic Affairs

Provost’s Meeting Groups

Academic Affairs Staff

Assessment &
Major Program Reviews

Development & Revision

Faculty Awards

Faculty Resources
& Forms

Initiatives &
Task Force Reports

Notes From the Provost

Home / Office of the Provost & Academic Affairs / Faculty Awards

Provost Banner

Purchase College Faculty Support Awards

Information on the 2015–16 round of awards will be available in August 2015.

Fall 2014 application deadline: Nov. 15, 2014
Spring 2015 application deadline: March 15, 2015

The Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs is pleased to support faculty research, academic travel and conference presentations, artistic endeavor, or other comparable professional activity.

Faculty Support Award Guidelines

  1. The goal of these awards is to encourage faculty in their professional endeavors and to further their own and the college’s mission and reputation.
  2. Typically, awards will be in the $1,000–$1,500 range; the maximum is $1,500 for each applicant during the 2014–15 awards cycle.
  3. Awards may also be for smaller sums, as appropriate to the project. More than one project may be included in one application, but the $1,500 limit applies to each applicant, not to each individual project.
  4. This award period covers expenses incurred from September 1, 2014 to August 31, 2015.
  5. Each application is peer reviewed by the Faculty Professional Standards and Awards Committee, whose members deserve our thanks for their dedicated service. The committee’s recommendations are then reviewed by the provost. Faculty who do not have a current curriculum vitae and annual faculty activity report on file, as required by SUNY policy, will not be granted funds. Similarly, applicants who have received previous funding but have not submitted to the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs a satisfactory report on its use and progress towards completion of the project will be deemed ineligible.
  6. Application forms (available here: Word | RTF) should be submitted electronically, as an attached file, to the chair or director of your school or conservatory. Chairs and directors should:
    • verify the applicant’s eligibility and status (part-time, junior, or senior faculty)
    • indicate their support in the space allotted on the application form
    • send the amended application, as an attached file, to in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs.

Please do not submit incomplete applications, as they will be returned. Applications are invited from (a) full-time faculty on multiple-year contracts or with one year’s prior service and (b) part-time faculty who have served half time for at least three consecutive years.

Updated April 23, 2015

Arrow up icon 

Faculty Awards (main)

Faculty Support Award Recipients, 2007–Present

Congratulations to the Fall 2014 Faculty Support Award recipients!

Karen Baird
Linda Bastone
Michael Bell-Smit
Leandro Benmergui
Stephen Buck
Jakub Ciupiński
Anthony Domestico
Stella Ebner
Geoffrey Field
Kate Gilmore
Ager Gondra-Astigarraga
Yanine Hess
Cassandra Hooper
Mark Jonas
David Kim
Mary Kosut
Julian Kreimer
Elise Lemire
Susan Letcher
Cynthia Lin
Elizabeth Middleton
Lisa Jean Moore
Lenka Pichlíková
Jason Pine
Lorraine Plourde
Kristine Potter
Pamela Prather
Shruti Rajagopalan
Diana Reinhard
Christopher Robbins
Huang Ruo
Paul Siegel
Alexis Silver
Brooke Singer
Michelle Stewart
Michael Taub
Aviva Taubenfeld
Hakan Topal
Gary Waller
Joshua Willis
Louise Yelin
Agustin Zarzosa