Parents   |   Community   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  
Academics

Majors & Minors
at a Glance

School of Liberal Arts & Sciences

School of the Arts

School of Liberal Studies & Continuing Education

Faculty

Undergraduate
Core Curriculum

Study Abroad

Accreditation

Home / Academic Programs / Faculty /

faculty

Conservatory of Music: Studio Composition
Faculty & Visiting Affiliate Artists

Head: Jakub Ciupiński

Chris Anderson
Lecturer in Music
(part-time)
BM, Hartt School of Music, University of Hartford; MM, Purchase College.
christopher.anderson@purchase.edu | www.chrisplaysbass.com

Allyson Bellink
Associate Professor of Music
BM, Manhattan School of Music; MM, Purchase College.
allyson.bellink@purchase.edu

Jakub Ciupiński
Assistant Professor of Music

MA, Academy of Music in Kraków (Poland); MM, The Juilliard School.
jakub.ciupinski@purchase.edu | www.ciupinski.pl

Annmarie Gatti
Lecturer in Music
(part-time)
BA, City College, City University of New York.
annmarie.gatti@purchase.edu

Rebecca Haviland
Lecturer in Music
(part-time)
MusB, Purchase College.
rebecca.haviland@purchase.edu | www.rebeccahaviland.com

Ryan Homsey
Lecturer in Music (part-time)
MusB, Purchase College; MM, New York University.
ryan.homsey@purchase.edu | www.ryanhomsey.com

Ted Piltzecker
Associate Professor of Music
BM, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester; MM, Manhattan School of Music.
ted.piltzecker@purchase.edu | tedvibes.com

Darren Solomon
Visiting Affiliate Artist
(part-time)
BA, New York University.
darren.solomon@purchase.edu | www.darrensolomon.com

Carl Sturken
Lecturer in Music
(part-time)
BA, Wesleyan University.
carl.sturken@purchase.edu

Joel Thome
Associate Professor of Music (part-time)
BA, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester; MA, University of Pennsylvania; Certificate, Ecole Internationale for Music and Dance (France); studied with Pierre Boulez at Concours Internationale (Switzerland).
joel.thome@purchase.edu | www.insidetheperfectcircle.com

Faculty Emeriti

James McElwaine
Professor Emeritus of Music
BM, University of North Texas; MM, Yale University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service. Founding director of the studio composition program.
qc-cuny.academia.edu/JamesMcElwaine

Updated May 27, 2016

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.



The Studio Composition Program


Faculty Highlights:


Faculty by Area of Study

Campus Directory
Search for faculty by name or by school or conservatory.

Faculty Coordinators
(Boards of study, academic programs and initiatives)

Faculty Emeriti

Distinguished Professors & Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence (1974–Present)