School of Film and Media Studies:
Cinema Studies Faculty (Board of Study)

Nicholas Baer
Visiting Assistant Professor of Cinema Studies and Philosophy
(starting Jan. 2016)
BA, University of Chicago; MA, University of California, Berkeley.
nicholas.baer@purchase.edu

Tara Bayat
Lecturer in Cinema Studies
(part-time)
BFA, Purchase College.
tara.bayat@purchase.edu

Julia Heim
Lecturer in Cinema Studies
(part-time)
BA, Binghamton University, State University of New York; MA, Middlebury College; PhD, Graduate Center, City University of New York.
julia.heim@purchase.edu

Anne M. Kern
Associate Professor of Cinema Studies

BA, University of Wisconsin, Madison; MA, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; MPhil, PhD, Yale University.
anne.kern@purchase.edu

Regina Longo
Visiting Assistant Professor of Cinema Studies

BA, University of California, Berkeley; MA, PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara.
regina.longo@purchase.edu

Jeff Scheible
Assistant Professor of Cinema Studies
BA, Swarthmore College; MA, PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara.
jeffrey.scheible@purchase.edu

David Schwartz
Lecturer in Cinema Studies
(part-time)
BFA, Purchase College.
david.schwartz@purchase.edu

Michelle Stewart (on leave 2015–16)
Associate Professor of Cinema Studies
and Chair, School of Film and Media Studies
BA, Stanford University; MA, PhD, University of Minnesota.
michelle.stewart@purchase.edu

Gregory Taylor
Professor of Cinema Studies
and
Director, Conservatory of Theatre Arts
BA, University of Toronto; MA, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison.
gregory.taylor@purchase.edu

Sean Weiner
Lecturer in Cinema Studies
(part-time, Fall 2015)
BA, Purchase College; MFA, Hunter College, City University of New York.
sean.weiner@purchase.edu

Agustin Zarzosa
Associate Professor of Cinema Studies and
Interim Chair, School of Film and Media Studies (2015–16)
BA, Universidad Iberoamericana; MA, New York University; PhD, University of California, Los Angeles.
agustin.zarzosa@purchase.edu

Contributing Faculty

Paul Halperin: History (School of Humanities)
Casey Haskins: Philosophy (School of Humanities)
Elise Lemire: Literature (School of Humanities)
Sara Magenheimer: New Media
Shaka McGlotten: Media, Society, and the Arts
Alan McIntyre Smith: Film
Screenwriting Faculty

Updated Aug. 6, 2015

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.