faculty: gender studies

Interdisciplinary:
Gender Studies Faculty (Board of Study)

Shemeem Burney Abbas
Associate Professor of Political Science
School of Natural and Social Sciences
MA, University of Leeds; MA, PhD, University of Texas, Austin.
shemeem.abbas@purchase.edu

Ahmed Afzal
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Vassar College; MS, London School of Economics; MA, PhD, Yale University.
ahmed.afzal@purchase.edu

Karen Baird (on leave Spring 2015–Fall 2015)
Associate Professor of Political Science and
Doris and Carl Kempner Distinguished Professor (2013–15)
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BS, MA, PhD, University of Houston.
karen.baird@purchase.edu

Bill Baskin
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

BA, Fordham University; MA, PhD, New School for Social Research. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service.
bill.baskin@purchase.edu

Nancy Bowen
Associate Professor of Art+Design

School of Art+Design
BFA, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; MFA, Hunter College, City University of New York.
nancy.bowen@purchase.edu | www.nancybowen.net

Lenora Champagne
Professor of Theatre and Performance
Conservatory of Theatre Arts
BA, Louisiana State University; MA, PhD, New York University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
lenora.champagne@purchase.edu

Tracy Schpero Fitzpatrick
Associate Professor of Art History
(on leave through Fall 2014)
School of Humanities
Chief Curator
Neuberger Museum of Art
BA, Tufts University; MA, George Washington University; PhD, Rutgers University.
tracy.fitzpatrick@purchase.edu

Rudolf Gaudio (on leave Spring 2014–Fall 2014)
Associate Professor of Anthropology
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Yale University; MIA, Columbia University; PhD, Stanford University.
rudolf.gaudio@purchase.edu

Paula Halperin
Assistant Professor of Latin American History
School of Humanities
BA, University of Buenos Aires; PhD, University of Maryland.
paula.halperin@purchase.edu

Chrys Ingraham
Professor of Sociology and
Juanita and Joseph Leff Distinguished Professor (2014–15)
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, MA, MPA, PhD, Syracuse University.
chrys.ingraham@purchase.edu

Morris Kaplan
Professor of Philosophy

School of Humanities
BA, Williams College; MA, JD, Yale University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
morris.kaplan@purchase.edu

Lisa Keller
Professor of History
School of Humanities
BA, Vassar College; PhD, Cambridge University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service.
lisa.keller@purchase.edu

Suzanne Kessler
Professor of Psychology
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and
Dean, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
BA, Carnegie Mellon University; PhD, City University of New York. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.
suzanne.kessler@purchase.edu

Mary Kosut
Associate Professor of Media, Society, and the Arts
School of Film and Media Studies
BA, MA, University of New Orleans; PhD, New School for Social Research.
mary.kosut@purchase.edu

Jane Kromm
Professor of Art History

School of Humanities
BS, Wheelock College; MDiv, Harvard University; PhD, Emory University.
jane.kromm@purchase.edu

Elise V. Lemire
Professor of Literature
School of Humanities
BA, Yale University; MA, PhD, Rutgers University.
elise.lemire@purchase.edu

Michael Lobel
Professor of Art History
School of Humanities
BA, Wesleyan University; MA, MPhil, PhD, Yale University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
michael.lobel@purchase.edu

Connie Lobur
Associate Professor of Political Science

School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, BS, Pennsylvania State University; MA, PhD, Rutgers University.
connie.lobur@purchase.edu

Shaka McGlotten (on leave Fall 2014)
Associate Professor of Media, Society, and the Arts
School of Film and Media Studies
BA, Grinnell College; PhD, University of Texas, Austin.
shaka.mcglotten@purchase.edu

Wendy McKenna
Professor of Sociology
(part-time)
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Antioch College; PhD, City University of New York.
wendy.mckenna@purchase.edu

Lisa Jean Moore
Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies and
School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Tufts University; MPH, University of California, Berkeley; PhD, University of California, San Francisco.
lisa-jean.moore@purchase.edu

Gaura Narayan
Assistant Professor of Literature

School of Humanities
BA (Honors), Delhi University; MA, MPhil, PhD, Columbia University.
gaura.narayan@purchase.edu

Diana Reinhard
Assistant Professor of History

School of Humanities
BA, MA, Loyola College; MA, American University; PhD, Temple University.
diana.reinhard@purchase.edu

Jordan Schildcrout (on leave Fall 2014)
Assistant Professor of Theatre and Performance
Conservatory of Theatre Arts
BA, Yale University; PhD, The Graduate Center, City University of New York.
jordan.schildcrout@purchase.edu

Rachel Simon
Lecturer in Gender Studies
(part-time)
School of Humanities | School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, Colby College; MFA, Sarah Lawrence College.
rachel.simon@purchase.edu

Michelle Stewart
Associate Professor of Cinema Studies

and Chair, School of Film and Media Studies
BA, Stanford University; MA, PhD, University of Minnesota.
michelle.stewart@purchase.edu

Jennifer K. Uleman
Associate Professor of Philosophy
School of Humanities
BA, Swarthmore College; PhD, University of Pennsylvania. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.
jennifer.uleman@purchase.edu

Louise Yelin
Professor of Literature
AB, Bryn Mawr College; MA, PhD, Columbia University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.
louise.yelin@purchase.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Kay Ellen Capo
Associate Professor Emerita of Literature and Theatre and Performance

Conservatory of Theatre Arts
BA, LeMoyne College; MA, PhD, Northwestern University.

Kimberly Christensen
Associate Professor Emerita of Economics

School of Natural & Social Sciences
BA, Earlham College; PhD, University of Massachusetts. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Naomi Holoch
Associate Professor Emerita of French and Literature

School of Humanities
BA, Oberlin College; Licence-ès-Lettres, University of Aix-en-Provence; PhD, Columbia University.

Marjorie Miller
Professor Emerita of Philosophy

School of Humanities
BA, Jackson College; MA, Tufts University; PhD, SUNY Stony Brook. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Esther Newton
Professor Emerita of Anthropology

School of Natural and Social Sciences
BA, University of Michigan; MA, PhD, University of Chicago. Founded the lesbian/gay studies program at Purchase College.

Ronnie Scharfman
Professor Emerita of French and Literature

School of Humanities
BA, Bryn Mawr College; Licence-ès-Lettres, Maitrise-ès-Lettres, University of Aix-en-Provence; MPhil, PhD, Yale University. SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Nina Pelikan Straus
Professor Emerita of Literature

School of Humanities
BA, Bennington College; PhD, New York University.

Updated June 11, 2014

Arrow up icon 


Updates
Please direct updates for this page to the managing editor in the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs. Because internal and external links may change or expire from time to time, please report any changed or broken links to the managing editor as well. For individual faculty home pages, please refer to the Faculty Handbook.