Parents   |   Community   |   Guest   |   Current Students   |   Faculty & Staff  

Purchase Recognizes Local Leader in Science

For the past 25 years, Dr. Judith Spitz, senior vice president of IT Strategy and Planning, and chief information officer at Verizon, has been a global trailblazer in corporate IT and an international champion for young women, encouraging them to become more involved in the sciences. An exemplary executive, Spitz transformed the IT culture at Verizon and, most recently, the development and deployment of a suite of social networking tools. 

Purchase College will recognize her remarkable accomplishments on November 17 when she will receive the third annual Science Entrepreneurship Award at the Westchester County Association's annual Apex Awardsdinner in White Plains.

"The innovation and leadership displayed by Dr. Spitz are reflections of and an inspiration for our students in the science programs at Purchase College, many of whom go on to earn Ph.Ds in fields such as biology, chemistry, biochemistry, psychology, computer science and environmental studies," said Suzanne Kessler, dean of the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences here"Dr. Spitz is an outstanding role model for Purchase students, who are our future science and business leaders. We salute her"

A roll-up-your-sleeves advocate, Dr. Spitz participates in volunteer and professional organizations for young women, urging them to enter the STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) disciplines.

Purchase's Science Entrepreneurship Award goes to an individual scientist employed by a Metro New York-based company whose scientific work has made a significant contribution to his or her affiliated business or industry. The award is an acknowledgment by Purchase College of the importance of its growing relationship with the Westchester business community, especially as companies in the county are employing more and more of the college's students, including females, who graduate in the sciences.  There are 330 female students and 13 female faculty members in the sciences at Purchase.

Previous winners of the science award are Dr. Andrew Blight of Acorda Therapeutics; and Dr. David Valenzuela and Dr. Andrew Murphy of Regeneron.

Bookmark and Share